A New Memory

Athena Theatre Playwright Group 2017
Developing world premiers of off-beat and irreverent psychological dramas and dark comedies that challenge traditional stereotypes. Athena produces theatre that entertains, informs, enlightens, questions and deepens audience awareness of vital modern issues.

“Noa Egozi directed eight memorable plays that gave a sense of a complete narrative within each of the sharply-written pieces, performed expertly and fully by a talented cast.” -Ronni Burns, eljnyc.com

“The performances were dazzling, both humorous and meaningful, touching on most relevant and important topics.” -Andrew Baumgarten, andybsports.com

Nora Sørena Casey
Brenda Foley

Julienne Hairston

Meron Langsner, PhD

Rachel Mann

Kate Mulley

Adam Seidel

Bara Swain

Playwriting Group

Athena Theatre’s new playwriting group, Athena Writes, selected eight playwrights assembled for a one-year exploration of the theme: “A New Memory,” and centered on Athena Theatre’s commitment to supporting new work which pushes at the boundaries of live theatre.

Playwrights were asked to write a short, 10 minute play for production at the New Play Festival Spring 2017.

A NEW MEMORY: an evening of ten minute plays

Monday, May 15th @ 7PM

Leonard Nimoy Thalia at Symphony Space
2537 Broadway at 95th Street, New York, NY 10025

Directed by Noa Egozi, an Israeli director based in New York. She is interested in exploring theatre’s ability to replace indifference with compassion, certainty with doubt, and passivity with action. Noa is a founding member of Second Circle Theatre Company, where she directed Peter Turrini’s Shooting Rats and developed a one-woman adaptation of The Taming of The Shrew which received an award for best adaptation from the United Solo Festival. Other recent directing projects include the world premiere of Sylvia Khoury’s An Inferno, the world premiere of Lorne Svarc’s Chained Woman, Mud by Maria Irene Fornes, and Noa’s original five-person adaptation of The Tragedy of Julius Caesar. Noa holds an MFA in directing at The New School for Drama and is a proud 2016 Drama League Directing Fellow.


Amanda Fuller
Allesondra Helwig
Patrick Horn

Dave T. Koenig
Marilyn Oran
Veronique Ory

Gustavo Pace
Shauna Pinkett
Jak Watson